Tuesday,  Jul 27, 2021,16:58 (GMT+7) 0 0
Almost 100% vote for Trong’s re-election
Ngoc Lan
Saturday,  Jan 30, 2016,00:26 (GMT+7)

Almost 100% vote for Trong’s re-election

Ngoc Lan

By Ngoc Lan - The Saigon Times Daily

Party General Secretary Nguyen Phu Trong delivers closing remarks at the 12th National Party Congress in Hanoi on January 28 - PHOTO: TTXVN

HANOI – Almost all members of the 12th Party Central Committee have elected Nguyen Phu Trong as Party General Secretary for a second term.

Trong told reporters after the closing session of the 12th National Party Congress in Hanoi on January 28 that he was surprised by his re-election with a vote of almost 100%.

“I didn’t expect to be re-elected to the (12th) Party Central Committee and re-elected as Party General Secretary with an almost-100% vote,” the 72-year-old said.

Members of the 12th Party Central Committee convened their first plenum on Wednesday to elect members of the Politburo, Party General Secretary, Secretariat and Central Inspection Commission. The election results were officially announced at the closing session of the eight-day congress on January 28.

At a half-hour media briefing held on January 28 to announce the outcome of the congress, Trong said his re-election was a surprise because of his old age and that the upcoming workload would be heavy.

“I asked to step down but I need to fulfill the duties assigned by the Party,” Trong noted.

According to Trong, members of the new Party Central Committee elected 19 members of the Politburo at their first plenum. For the first time the Politburo has 19 members, up from 16 in the previous term.

Minister of Public Security Tran Dai Quang, Deputy Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc and NA Vice Chairwoman Nguyen Thi Kim Ngan were also elected to the Politburo. These three people were nominated by members of the previous Party Central Committee at their 14th and final plenum for the posts of State President, Prime Minister and NA Chair, respectively. 

Members of the Politburo in the new term have an average age of 59.7. Trong is the oldest while Vo Van Thuong, 46, deputy secretary of the HCMC Party Committee, is the youngest.

The Politburo has three female members; they are Nguyen Thi Kim Ngan and Tong Thi Phong, both vice chairwomen of the National Assembly, and Truong Thi Mai, head of the National Assembly Committee for Social Affairs. This is the highest number of Politburo female members ever.

A majority of the Politburo members are from northern provinces while there are two from the central region and four from the southern region.

The Party Central Committee is committed to riding out challenges in the coming time and continuing the fight against corruption and wastefulness as well as developing the next generation of leaders. In addition, it will keep striving to soon turn Vietnam into a modern industrialized country, according to Trong.

A country without discipline would fall into chaos and instability, and could not grow, he told reporters, adding democracy and discipline must go hand in hand.

At the closing session, delegates to the congress endorsed the election of three members of the Secretariat – Luong Cuong, deputy head of the General Department of Politics, Nguyen Van Nen, Minister and Chairman of the Government Office, and Nguyen Hoa Binh, Prosecutor General of the Supreme People’s Procuracy.

The Party Central Committee also elected 21 members to the Central Inspection Commission.

When asked about the congress outcome and the personnel plan prepared by the 11th Party Central Committee, Trong said everything had gone as well as planned.

Members of the new Politburo:

Nguyen Phu Trong, Party General Secretary
Tran Dai Quang
Nguyen Thi Kim Ngan
Ngo Xuan Lich
To Lam
Nguyen Xuan Phuc
Nguyen Thien Nhan
Dinh The Huynh
Pham Minh Chinh
Tong Thi Phong
Vuong Dinh Hue
Tran Quoc Vuong
Pham Binh Minh
Truong Thi Mai
Truong Hoa Binh
Nguyen Van Binh
Vo Van Thuong
Dinh La Thang
Hoang Trung Hai

Members of the new Secretariat:

Luong Cuong
Nguyen Van Nen
Nguyen Hoa Binh

Members of the new Central Inspection Commission:

Tran Quoc Vuong, head of the Inspection Commission

Mai Truc
Nguyen Duc Hai
Sa Nhu Hoa
Bui Thi Minh Hoai
Nguyen Thanh Son
Nguyen Van Nhan
To Quang Thu
Tran Cam Tu
Nguyen Cong Hoc
Vo Minh Khuong
Nguyen Van Doanh
Nguyen Thi Bich Nga
Ha Quoc Tri
Cao Van Thong
Vu Khac Hung
Nghiem Phu Cuong
Nguyen The Toan
Nguyen Quoc Hiep
Huynh Thi Xuan Lam
Tran Tien Hung

Share with your friends:         
Publication Permit No. 41/GP-CBC issued on June 2, 2021
by the Authority of Press
Deputy Editor-in-Chief: Pham Huu Chuong
Managing Editor: Nguyen Van Thang.
Assistant Managing Editor: Pham Dinh Dung.
Head Office: 35 Nam Ky Khoi Nghia St., Dist.1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. Tel: (84.28) 3829 5936; Fax: (84.28) 3829 4294.
All rights reserved.