29 C
Ho Chi Minh City
Friday, July 12, 2024

Khanh Hoa set to become centrally-governed city

The Saigon Times

Must read

HCMC – The south-central coastal province of Khanh Hoa is envisioned to become a centrally-governed city by 2030, with its development focusing on international maritime services and tourism.

Khanh Hoa Province will become a growth driver in south-central Vietnam, prioritizing high-tech industries, high-quality healthcare and human resource development, among others.

The Khanh Hoa provincial administration currently has a township, two cities and six districts.

As planned, Cam Lam District in the south will serve as an eco-urban region focusing on aviation and aerospace businesses, while Cam Ranh City will serve as a tourism-logistics urban hub in the province, while Nha Trang will serve as a first-grade city.

Van Ninh District to the north is slated to become a major port of call for high-end vacationers. Ninh Hoa, the biggest township in the province, would be developed into a major manufacturing hub. Ecotourism and traditional cultural preservation are both included in the development of Dien Khanh District.

Vietnam now has five centrally-governed cities — Hanoi, Haiphong, Danang, HCMC and Can Tho.

A locality to be recognized as a centrally-governed municipality in Vietnam must have a population of at least 1.5 million and an area of at least 1,500 square kilometers, as well as a certain degree of socioeconomic development.

For example, some 90% of its economy must come from industry, construction and services.

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest articles