25.6 C
Ho Chi Minh City
Friday, July 26, 2024

Nha Trang proposed for expansion by 880 hectares

The Saigon Times

Must read

HCMC – Four communes and towns in Dien Khanh District, Khanh Hoa Province, with a total area of around 880 hectares, would be incorporated into Nha Trang City, according to the amended Nha Trang City Master Plan until 2040.

The four communes and towns comprise Dien An, Dien Toan, Suoi Hiep and Dien Khanh in Dien Khanh District.

The Khanh Hoa People’s Committee has written to the Ministry of Construction seeking approval to carry out the revised Nha Trang Master Plan on December 27.

Currently, Nha Trang City spans 26,600 hectares, comprising 19 wards and eight communes, with a population of over 330,000. After the incorporation, the city will be over 27,500 hectares wide with roughly 780,000 people.

According to the master plan, Nha Trang will become a coastal tourism city, a center of administration, politics, economy, culture, and science in Khanh Hoa, as well as a hub of economy, science, education and medical facilities of the south-central coast and central highland regions.

Regarding development strategies, Nha Trang will focus on environmental protection, climate change adaptation and the conservation of natural heritage values. Tourism will be the main economic sector of the city.

It will develop in a multi-center model with the main center of the coastal urban strip. Other centers will be at the old Nha Trang airport, along the Cai River and Vo Nguyen Giap Street.

Additionally, the areas on Hon Tre Island and along other rivers in the city will receive further investment.

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest articles