28.9 C
Ho Chi Minh City
Monday, June 24, 2024

Vietnam to issue evisas for citizens from 80 countries from July 1

Must read

HCMC – Visitors from 80 countries and territories will be granted e-visas to Vietnam from July 1, following a suspension intended to curb the spread of the novel coronavirus.

On Monday, Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc approved a resolution on a list of countries and territories whose citizens will enjoy the e-visa scheme, in alignment with the Law on Entry, Exit, Transit and Residence of Foreigners in Vietnam.

The 80 countries include Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Cuba, Denmark, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russia, South Korea, Sweden, Switzerland, the Netherlands, the Philippines, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, the United States and Venezuela.

The resolution also draws up a list of eight airports, 16 land border gates and 13 sea border gates where foreign visitors can enter and exit the Southeast Asian nation with e-visas.

The eight airports are Noi Bai in the capital city of Hanoi, Cat Bi in the northern city of Haiphong, Phu Bai in the central province of Thua Thien-Hue, Danang in the central city of Danang, Cam Ranh in the south-central province of Khanh Hoa, Tan Son Nhat in HCMC, Can Tho in the Mekong Delta city of Can Tho and Phu Quoc in the Mekong Delta province of Kien Giang.

From July 7, authorities at the Phu Quoc Economic Zone will apply a visa exemption scheme for foreigners.

Phu Quoc Island has fulfilled four criteria to be eligible for the scheme: providing an international airport and separate space, being located away from the mainland, adopting appropriate socioeconomic policies and ensuring the country’s defense and security as well as social safety and order.

The 16 land border gates are Tay Trang in Dien Bien Province, Mong Cai in Quang Ninh Province, Huu Nghi in Lang Son Province, Lao Cai in its namesake province, Na Meo in Thanh Hoa Province, Nam Can in Nghe An Province, Cau Treo in Ha Tinh Province, Cha Lo in Quang Binh Province, La Lay and Lao Bao in Quang Tri Province, Bo Y in Kon Tum Province, Moc Bai and Xa Mat in Tay Ninh Province, Tinh Bien and Song Tien in An Giang Province and Ha Tien in Kien Giang Province.

The 13 ports of entry are Hon Gai and Cam Pha in Quang Ninh Province, Haiphong in its namesake city, Nghi Son in Thanh Hoa Province, Vung Ang in Ha Tinh Province, Chan May in Thua Thien-Hue Province, Danang in its namesake city, Nha Trang in Khanh Hoa Province, Quy Nhon in Binh Dinh Province, Dung Quat in Quang Ngai Province, Vung Tau in Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province, HCMC and Duong Dong in Kien Giang Province.

Earlier, the Prime Minister suspended the issuance of visas for visitors from all countries and territories from March 18 to contain the spread of the new coronavirus.

A national social distancing campaign that shut down nonessential businesses, such as barbershops, cinemas, bars and gyms, lasted from April 1 to 22. Since then, daily routines have been restored.

Since April 16, Vietnam has reported no new infections of Covid-19, the disease caused by the novel coronavirus, in the community over the past 40 days.

The country has so far confirmed a total of 327 Covid-19 cases, with 187 of them coming from abroad. At least 272 patients have recovered from the disease and been released from hospital.

By Gia Phong

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest articles